top of page

The Pool Man Podcast Show Notes

Episode 9 - “How do I keep my pool clean in this weather?”

  • Introduction and format:

You’re listening to episode nine of The Pool Man Podcast - “How do I keep my pool clean?”

This episode was recorded on February 20th, 2020.

I’ve designed this podcast to give you all the information you need to keep your pool in tip top condition all year round. The Pool Man Podcast is written and produced by me, and is intended as a guide only. I always recommend that you employ the services of a professional pool technician, should you encounter any problems you are unable to solve yourself.

Welcome to the ninth episode of The Pool Man Podcast… and I’m beginning to find my feet with this whole podcast venture. I’m getting to know the best way to do things and it’s getting easier each time.

I’d like to thank all those people who took the time to send me emails and wished me well after they listened to my “Stroke” episode about my recent medical issues. I’ll read out one of them in the feedback section this time round.

In short, I’m doing much better physically and emotionally, and its heart warming to know that there are people out there who are concerned. All I can say is if you are feeling alone, or things aren’t going the way you thought they would, or for any reason at all you have dark feelings that lead you think that you may be showing signs of depression, you can talk to somebody about it.

Wether that is through Life Line, Headspace, your partner, your friends… anyone at all. You’ll be surprised at the response you get!! I know I was.

Feeling like this is something a lot of people experience, and it’s nothing to be ashamed about. I’ve found some therapy in podcasting, and recently I assembled a few mates at a pub when our golf game was washed out and we got on to the subject of the stroke episode I did.

We said, almost in jest, that maybe we should do a “Men Talking Over Beer” podcast. So we did… and I don’t think it’s an exaggeration to say that we’re all finding it helpful and it’s really giving us some much needed therapy as a group.

It’s a rather raw and honest round-table discussion from a few guys over a few beers. If you’ve ever wondered what guys talk about over beer, then look no further.

You can find us by searching for “The Men Talking Over Beer Podcast” on Spotify, iTunes, Apple Podcasts, Overcast, Google, Stitcher Radio or at the website mentalkingoverbeer.podbean.com or wherever good podcasts are hosted.

Please have a listen and let us know what you think at mentalkingoverbeer@gmail.com

Hit subscribe so you’ll get the next episode automatically and please leave us a review as it helps get our rating up so others can find us.

Now, in Sydney in the past few weeks we’ve had the weather go from one extreme to the other from near on 50 degrees of stifling heat to last week’s horizontal rain and floods!! Sadly this type of extreme weather really affects the pool.

The searing heat tends to burn off all the residual chlorine in the water leaving it vulnerable to bacteria and algae growth, whilst excessive rain tends to mess with the PH and alkalinity levels and dilute the chemicals. Once again, this leaves the water vulnerable to bacteria and algae growth. It can also cause run-off from garden beds and even from neighbours land which can be deposited in the pool.

So how do you keep your pool clean under these adverse conditions? Well to cut a long story short…NOT VERY WELL!!

The best option for most is to enlist the help of a professional pool technician, but often after a significant weather event it may take some time before you pool tech can actually get out to your place. If this is the case, it’s always best to go back to basics and start at the beginning.

  1. Equipment: Check that all the pool equipment is in good repair and functioning properly.

  2. Water chemistry: Test the water and adjust as required. Ensure that the chemical and salt levels have not been diluted due to excess rain, and bring the levels back to the acceptable levels.

  3. Broom and Vacuum: Give the walls and floor a good scrub and vacuum to waste where possible.(This may not be possible under strict water restrictions)

I’ve had a few customers who have had to call me out again… only a few days after I had been there, because of run-off from their neighbours yards and garden beds.

This is a particular problem for one of my customers who lives in an area where the houses and yards are basically chiseled out of a mountain, and his bordering neighbours are quite elevated from the block to the side and rear of his property.

Obviously where there is heavy rain the run-off from the neighbours is going straight into his pool. This is unfortunate, but almost unavoidable in this situation.

I re-cleaned his pool again and vacuumed out almost 5cm of dirt and residue so hopefully the worst of the rain is gone now and we can all get back to what we want to do and swim in our pools as opposed to cleaning them!!

Call your local pool technician and get it sorted. We are here to help…

  1. Ensure that there are adequate levels of salt, algicide and chlorine in the water at all times.

  2. Clean The Pool: Brush walls and floor and allow the sediment to settle back on the surface before vacuuming to waste.

  3. Tune Equipment: Clean filters and reset timers.

So, listener feedback... I received some really great messages after the last episode, and I appreciate your genuine support and concern for my wellbeing.

First up I have Michael from Dandenong in Victoria who says...

Hello Todd,

I wasn’t really expecting you to take the Pool Man Podcast in the direction you did in the last show, but I’m really glad you did. It’s not often that someone will talk about something so personal in an open way like you did.

I hope you are doing better now and I hope it encourages others to speak up when they are feeling like there is a darkness in their lives.

Not to be over-dramatic, but some times that doesn’t happen until its too late. Lean on your friends and families. They’ll appreciate it as much as you will too.

Faithfully

Michael Marks

Dandenong Victoria

Thanks very much for that Michael, I do really appreciate your message and the fact that you took the time to send it.

You can email your questions to thepoolmanpodcast@gmail.com and put the word “Question” in the subject field. It just helps me sort through them all a bit more easily.

So drop me an email and I’ll do my best to answer them for you in an upcoming episode.

You can also use this email address if you’d like me to come out and have a look at your pool. If it’s too far for me personally, I’ll be happy to hook you up with a professional pool technician in your area, Australia wide.

This production was made by me and should only be used as a guide to keep your swimming pool clean and clear. I always recommend that you employ the services of a professional pool technician should you have any issues you are an able to solve yourself.

I now have a Facebook page up and running and you can find it over at facebook.com/thepoolmanpodcast, and I’m also up and running with the Pool Man website where you’ll find all the show notes for the podcast, info on my business and tips and tricks for you to keep your pool sparkling!! Head over to thepoolmanpodcast.wixsite.com/thepoolman or just search for The Pool Man Podcast in the Apple Podcasts, Overcast, Stitcher Radio which is available on iOS and Android, or over at PodBean.com and search for The Pool Man Podcast.

I do ask that after you listen, could you please give me a rating and subscribe so you automatically get the next episode when it becomes available, it also gets my numbers up so I rank a little higher and that really helps other people find me too, so I thank you very much in advance for that!!

So stay safe and stay in touch at thepoolmanpodcast@gmail.com

I hope you can join me again for the next episode of The Pool Man Podcast, coming soon to a pod catcher near you.

bottom of page